I’m Building a Cathedral

June 21, 2010

I’m reminded of a story about a traveler in the Middle Ages, who visited a city where many stone cutters were working. Approaching several, he asked the same question: “What are you doing?” The first stonecutter he met replied, “I’m cutting stone. It’s dull work, but it pays the bills.”  A second stonecutter responded, “I’m the best stone cutter in the land. Look at the smoothness of this stone, how perfect the edges are.”  A third pointed to a foundation several yards away, and said, “I’m building a cathedral.”

I don’t have a choice in this.  I am building a cathedral.  My genetic make up does not allow me to do dull work, or simply work because I am the best at something.  My DNA requires me to look for purpose and meaning in my life and work.  For the last 20 years I have done a lot of dull work, and at other times, I did things that were good but did not reflect my values.  After much soul-searching I have figured out the way to my cathedral and will build it. My ideas are unconventional,  non-traditional, and they reflect my personality. Like all cathedrals, mine will be beautiful.  It may take a long time to build, but when it is done, it will be a sight to behold.

One Response to “I’m Building a Cathedral”

  1. Tiny Says:

    Enjoy the process!

Leave a Reply

